List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2022) Free PDF

List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2022)

List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2022) PDF is available here!!! In this article, we are sharing the Complete List of CM of Punjab (1947-2022).This post is very important from an exam point of view especially for state level Punjab Exams.

List of Chief Ministers of Punjab  – Punjab is the 20th-largest Indian state by area.The state capital is Chandigarh, a Union Territory.The Chief Minister is the executive authority of the State.The position of the Chief Minister at the state level is analogous to the position of prime minister at the Centre.The Chief Minister shall be appointed by the governor.However, this does not imply that the governor is free to appoint any one as the Chief Minister.The governor has to appoint the leader of the majority party in the state legislative assembly as the Chief Minister.The Current Chief Ministers of Punjab is Charanjit Singh Channi.Here is the List of Punjab Chief Ministers PDF.

If candidates are preparing for any kind of competitive exam are advised to learn these kinds of questions to boost their knowledge.

As we know that the List of Chief Ministers of Punjab is one of the most important topic sections for the PPSC, PSTET, Punjab Police, Patwari, Punjab Constable, Jail Prahari and other State Government exams.Aspirants should know the Chief Ministers of Punjab because it is an important topic for Current affairs.

According to the Constitution, the Chief Minister may be a member of any of the two Houses of a state legislature.Usually Chief Ministers have been selected from the Lower House (legislative assembly), but, on a number of occasions, a member of the Upper House (legislative council) has also been appointed as Chief Minister.

Next Chief Ministers Elections are scheduled to be conducted in 2022.Punjab Current Chief Minister is Charanjit Singh Channi.

The oath of office to the Chief Minister is administered by the Governor of the state. Salary of Chief Minister of Punjab is Rs.2,30,000 lakh per month.The Chief Minister holds office for a term of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office.

List of Chief Ministers of Punjab – Important Questions

  1. The First Chief Minister of Punjab was Gopi Chand Bhargava, who was sworn in on 15th August 1947.
  2. The First Woman Chief Minister of Punjab was Rajinder Kaur Bhattal.
  3. The First Youngest Chief Minister of Punjab was Prakash Singh Badal (at the age of 42).
  4. The Shortest tenure Chief Minister of Punjab was Rajinder Kaur Bhattal.
  5. The Longest tenure Chief Minister of Punjab was Prakash Singh Badal.
  6. The three times Chief Minister of Punjab was Prakash Singh Badal.

Chief Ministers of Punjab List

Chief Ministers Name Period
Gopi Chand Bhargava 15 Aug 1947 to 13 Apr 1949
Bhim Sen Sachar 13 Apr 1949 to 18 Oct 1949
Gopi Chand Bhargava 18 Oct 1949 to 20 June 1951
Vacant (President Rule) 20 June 1951 to 17 April 1952
Bhim Sen Sachar 17 April 1952 to 23 Jan 1956
Partap Singh Kairon 23 Jan 1956 to 21 June 1964
Gopi Chand Bhargava 21 June 1964 to 6 July 1964
Ram Kishan 7 July 1964 to 5 July 1966
Vacant (President Rule) 5 July 1966 to 1 November 1966
Giani Gurmukh Singh Musafir 1 November 1966 to 8 March 1967
Gurnam Singh 8 March 1967 to 25 November 1967
Lachhman Singh Gill 25 November 1967 to 23 August 1968
Vacant (President Rule) 23 August 1968 to 17 February 1969
Gurnam Singh 17 February 1969 to 27 March 1970
Parkash Singh Badal 27 March 1970 to 14 June 1971
Vacant (President Rule) 14 June 1971 to 17 March 1972
Zail Singh 17 March 1972 to 30 April 1977
Vacant (President Rule) 30 April 1977 to 20 June 1977
Parkash Singh Badal 20 June 1977 to 17 February 1980
Vacant (President Rule) 17 February 1980 to 6 June 1980
Darbara Singh 6 June 1980 to 6 October 1983
Vacant (President Rule) 6 October 1983 to 29 September 1985
Surjit Singh Barnala 29 September 1985 to 11 June 1987
Vacant (President Rule) 11 June 1987 to 25 February 1992
Beant Singh 25 February 1992 to 31 August 1995
Harcharan Singh Brar 31 August 1995 to 21 November 1996
Rajinder Kaur Bhattal 21 November 1996 to 11 Feb 1997
Parkash Singh Badal 12 February 1997 to 26 February 2002
Amarinder Singh 26 February 2002 to 1 March 2007
Parkash Singh Badal 1 March 2007 to 16 March 2017
Amarinder Singh 16 March 2017 to 20 September 2021
Charanjit Singh Channi 20 September 2021 to Incumbent

List of Chief Ministers of Punjab (1947-2022): Download Free PDF

List of Chief Ministers of Indian States PDF – Important Links
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chhattisgarh Delhi
Goa Gujarat Haryana
Himachal Pradesh Jammu & Kashmir Jharkhand
Karnataka Kerala Madhya Pradesh
Maharashtra Manipur Meghalaya
Mizoram Nagaland Odisha
Puducherry Punjab Rajasthan
Sikkim Tamilnadu Telangana
Tripura Uttar Pradesh Uttarakhand
West Bengal