List of Chief Ministers of Assam (1950-2026) Free PDF

List of Chief Ministers of Assam (1950-2026)

List of Chief Ministers of Assam (1950-2026) PDF is available here!!! In this article, we are sharing the Complete List of CM of Assam (1950-2026).This post is very important from an exam point of view especially for state level Assam Exams.

List of Chief Ministers of Assam  – Assam is a state in northeastern India, with the city of Dispur as its capital.Assam covers an area of 78,438 km2 (30,285 sq mi).Assamese is the official and most commonly spoken language of the state.Assam is known for Assam tea and Assam silk. The state was the first site for oil drilling in Asia.The List of Chief Ministers of Assam will give you the name of personalities serving as the Chief Ministers of Assam.As we know that The Chief Minister is the executive authority of the State.The position of the Chief Minister at the state level is analogous to the position of prime minister at the Centre.The Chief Minister shall be appointed by the governor.However,this does not imply that the governor is free to appoint any one as the Chief Minister.The Current Chief Ministers of Assam is Himanta Biswa Sarma.Here is the List of Assam Chief Ministers PDF.

If candidates are preparing for any kind of competitive exam are advised to learn these kinds of questions to boost their knowledge.Because CM of Assam is important to the general awareness section of competitive exams.These factual questions about Chief Minister of Assam, their office tenure and the political party they belong to are asked in general awareness sections of most of the competitive exams like Assam PSC, Assam Police Constable.

As we know that the List of Chief Ministers of Assam is one of the most important topic sections for the Assam Police Constable, Assam Public Service Commission, and other State Government exams.Aspirants should know the Chief Ministers of Assam because it is an important topic for Current affairs.

According to the Constitution, the Chief Minister may be a member of any of the two Houses of a state legislature. Usually Chief Ministers have been selected from the Lower House (legislative assembly), but, on a number of occasions, a member of the Upper House (legislative council) has also been appointed as Chief Minister.

Next Chief Ministers Elections are scheduled to be conducted in 2026.Assam Current Chief Minister is Himanta Biswa Sarma.

The oath of office to the Chief Minister is administered by the Governor of the state. Salary of Chief Minister of Assam is Rs.1,25,000 lakh per month.The Chief Minister holds office for a term of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office.

List of Chief Ministers of Assam – Important Questions

  1. The First Chief Minister of Assam was Gopinath Bordoloi, who was sworn on 26th January 1950.
  2. The Shortest tenure Chief Minister of Assam was Bhumidhar Barman.
  3. The Longest tenure Chief Minister of Assam was Tarun Gogoi.
  4. The First Woman Chief Minister of Assam was Syeda Anwara Taimur.

Chief Ministers of Assam List

Chief Ministers Name Period
Gopinath Bordoloi 26 January 1950 to 6 Aug 1950
Bishnuram Medhi 9 Aug 1950 to 27 Dec 1957
Bimala Prasad Chaliha 28 Dec 1957 to 6 November 1970
Mahendra Mohan Choudhry 11 November 1970 to 30 Jan 1972
Sarat Chandra Singha 31 Jan 1972 to 12 March 1978
Golap Borbora 12 March 1978 to 4 September 1979
Jogendra Nath Hazarika 9 September 1979 to 11 Dec 1979
Vacant (President Rule) 12 Dec 1979 to 5 Dec 1980
Syeda Anwara Taimur 6 Dec 1980 to 30 June 1981
Vacant (President Rule) 30 June 1981 to 13 Jan 1982
Kesab Chandra Gogoi 13 Jan 1982 to 19 March 1982
Vacant (President Rule) 19 March 1982 to 27 Feb 1983
Hiteswar Saikia 27 Feb 1983 to 23 Dec 1985
Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 24 Dec 1985 to 28 November 1990
Vacant (President Rule) 28 November 1990 to 30 June 1991
Hiteswar Saikia 30 June 1991 to 22 April 1996
Bhumidhar Barman 22 April 1996 to 14 May 1996
Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 15 May 1996 to 17 May 2001
Tarun Gogoi 18 May 2001 to 24 May 2016
Sarbananda Sonowal 24 May 2016 to 10 May 2021
Himanta Biswa Sarma 10 May 2021 to Incumbent

List of Chief Ministers of Assam (1950-2026): Download Free PDF

List of Chief Ministers of Indian States PDF – Important Links
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chhattisgarh Delhi
Goa Gujarat Haryana
Himachal Pradesh Jammu & Kashmir Jharkhand
Karnataka Kerala Madhya Pradesh
Maharashtra Manipur Meghalaya
Mizoram Nagaland Odisha
Puducherry Punjab Rajasthan
Sikkim Tamilnadu Telangana
Tripura Uttar Pradesh Uttarakhand
West Bengal